Payne Hicks Beach

Payne Hicks Beach

21 September 2011


The selectors have announced their choice for seven out of the ten sailing classes for Weymouth next year.

Ben Ainslie has been picked for the Finn class. If he can win Gold that will make his tally four plus a silver thereby becoming the most successful sailor of all time.


Double Olympic champion Iain Percy and his crew Bart Simpson will represent Great Britain in the Star class whilst, after his victory in Beijing, Paul Goodison  will be defending his title in the single handed Laser.


The windsurfers Bryony Shaw and Nick Dempsey will be fighting hard to better their third places from Beijing and Athens respectively and the newly formed partnership of Hannah Mills and Saskia Clark will be fighting hard for victory in the women's' 470 dinghy.


Lucy MacGregor and her crew Annie Lush and Kate MacGregor will represent team GBR in the women's match racing.


The selection is too close to call in the three other classes and has been deferred, probably until after the World Championships in Perth, Australia in December.



Back to News Listing